India will host FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in 2020

INDIA--International football will return to India in 2020, as the world's second-most populous country was awarded the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup for 2020. The men's version of the same football competition was held in India in 2017.

"We are delighted to announce that India has been confirmed as the host of the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in 2020," a March 15 post on the official Indian Football Team (@IndianFootball) said, followed by "#ShePower."

New Zealand hosted the first FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup in 2008; subsequent tournaments were held in Trinidad and Tobago (2010), Azerbaijan (2012), Costa Rica (2014), Jordan (2016) and Uruguay (2018).

The 2020 FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup will be the 7th iteration of the international football competition; FIFA launched the biennial women's youth football tournament in 2008.

Spain, which won the tournament in 2018, is the reigning champion. Other countries participating in the 2018 tournament were Japan, North Korea, South Korea, Cameroon, Ghana, South Africa, Canada, Mexico, United States, Uruguay, Brazil, Colombia, New Zealand, Finland, Germany and Spain.

The final match pitted Spain against Mexico; New Zealand finished third, while Canada helped round out the Top 4.

Japan was awarded the Fair Play award after the 2018 tournament; Ghana's Mukurama Abdulai and Spain's Claudia Pina were the tournament's top scorers (seven goals, each).

North Korea is the most successful team of the U-17 Women's World Cup, winning the championship twice (2008 and 2016), with one runner-up finish in 2012 and a fourth-place performance in 2010.

Japan (2014 champion, 2010 and 2016 runner-up) and Spain (2018 champion, 2014 runner-up, and third-place finishes in 2010 and 2016) are the tournament's other successful teams.

Six countries - Canada, Germany, Ghana, Japan, New Zealand and North Korea, have appeared in each of the first six U-17 Women's World Cups. Finland made its first-ever appearance in 2018. The tournament was held in Uruguay, Nov. 13-Dec. 1, 2018.

The 2017 FIFA U-17 Men's World Cup was held at six different cities in India; the youth football tournament ran Oct. 6-28, 2017. England defeated Spain in the final match, which was held at Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata, West Bengal.

There were 24 teams competing in the 2017 U-17 men's tournament: India, Iraq, Iran, Japan, North Korea, Ghana, Guinea, Mali, Niger, Costa Rica, Honduras, Mexico, United States, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Paraguay, New Caledonia, New Zealand, England, France, Germany, Spain and Turkey.

India, New Caledonia and Niger each appeared in the U-17 World Cup for the first time in 2017.